Welcome to The Royal Cruising Club


The Royal Cruising Club was founded in 1880 by Sir Arthur Underhill and a coterie of friends to encourage and facilitate cruising in small yachts. Members, then as now, contributed to the enjoyment and safety of others by writing accounts of their cruises for the Club Journal and publishing coastal guides.

Many familiar sailing names have been RCC members: Claud Worth, Erskine Childers, Tilman, Miles and Beryl Smeeton, and that other remarkable couple Eric and Susan Hiscock, whose lifetime of voyaging inspired countless long distance sailors.

The Club's prime objective remains the furtherance of cruising under sail and its membership, by invitation only and limited to four hundred, enjoys the same friendly intimacy as Underhill's group of Victorian sailing eccentrics.

Roving Commissions


Roving Commissions is the annual Journal of the Royal Cruising Club and is an anthology of RCC members' cruises for the year.

RCC Members may purchase additional copies at a member's special price through the online shop available through the RCC Members' Area.

Non members of the RCC may purchase a single hard copy of the latest edition of the Journal (for despatch to a UK address) by clicking on the "Purchase Roving Commissions (Hard Copy)" button below and paying by PayPal, credit card, or debit card. Those wishing to pay by another means, order multiple copies/back copies or for the order to be dispatched overseas, should follow the instructions which can be downloaded by clicking here.

RCC Awards 2017

From inspiring cruises to outstanding seamanship, the Royal Cruising Club has announced its annual award winners for the 2017 sailing season.

The Royal Cruising Club announced its highly regarded annual awards in January which ranged from recognition of a mid-Atlantic rescue by the Queen Mary 2 to an account of a cruise by windsurfer off the coast of Wales and in the Caribbean.

The Medal for Seamanship was jointly awarded this year to Mervyn Wheatley, a long-standing member of the Club, who has clocked up over 400,000 miles, including three Atlantic crossings in one year - singlehanded. He has been a round the world skipper in the Clipper Races. Bad luck overtook him in 2017 when, during his fourth OSTAR, he had to abandon his yacht, Tamarind. To his rescue came the Queen Mary 2 and this mighty ship was able to remove Wheatley to safety. For the seamanship shown by Mervyn Wheatley over the years, and for the display of seamanship shown by the QM2, the RCC jointly awarded this highly-prized medal to the Master and crew of the QM2.

The photograph shows Mervyn Wheatley sailing Tamarind .

In recognition not only of his sailing, journalism and authorship, the RCC awarded the Medal for Services to Cruising to Tom Cunliffe for his never-wavering support for the values of traditional seamanship which he has brought to a new generation of sailors.

Previous winners of the Medal for Seamanship, the Medal for Services to Cruising and the Tilman Medal may be seen by clicking on the link below.

The prize winners amongst the members reflect another year of highly ambitious cruising with the Club’s highest award, the Challenge Cup, going to Mike and Devala Robinson for the log of their voyage from South Africa back to Dartmouth which completed their circumnavigation. Other awards were given for voyages to the north east Pacific preceded by an overland cruise across the Rockies, and for more peaceful family cruises off the west coast of Scotland. David Southwood gave a particularly vivid account of the same storm which caused Mervyn Wheatley to abandon ship.

The RCC publishes its members’ logs annually as ‘Roving Commissions’ and they are available for sale to the public via the Club’s website where you may also view logs going back to 1883.

Paul Heiney Vice Commodore

January 2018

The Baltic Sea and Approaches, 4th edition

A new (fourth) edition of the popular RCCPF book The Baltic Sea and Approaches has just been published by Imray.

The book owes much to previous editions but has been completely revised to provide a wealth of new information and includes a number of new harbours and anchorages. It covers no less than 9 countries,and is intended to be a useful planning guide as well as having a place in the cockpit. It has been an interesting challenge for the editorial team led by Nigel Wollen and comprising fellow RCC members Madeleine Strobel, Annette Ridout, Miranda Delmar-Morgan and Jan Hörhammer, our HFR in Russia Vladimir Ivankiv, and CA members Graham and Fay Cattell and Nicholas Hill, with contributions from many other experienced Baltic hands.

Blue Water Medal Awarded to Tom and Vicky Jackson

The Cruising Club of America (CCA) has selected Tom and Vicky Jackson to receive its 2015 Blue Water Medal.

The Blue Water Medal was established in 1923 to recognize “a meritorious example of seamanship.” The Jacksons were cited for their extensive cruising and racing over the past 34 years aboard their 40’ Sparkman & Stephens-designed Sunstone. On the now nearly 50-year-old sloop, they covered close to 200,000 miles, including a circumnavigation. The medal will be presented at the Club’s annual Awards Dinner in New York on March 4, 2016.
The Jacksons met 45 years ago while crewing together in the Fastnet Race. They married thereafter in 1972 and, except for a short pause, have been cruising and racing since. Starting in 1978 they lived aboard a 31' Kim Holman design on the East Coast of England. They bought Sunstonein 1981, and moved aboard her, residing first on the East Coast and later in the Hamble, England. The couple initially raced Sunstone in numerous British offshore racing events, and during the period from 1982 to 1997 they collected a series of class and overall victories, including the British Commodore’s Cup in 1996. Out of eight Fastnets entered, Sunstone won her class in four.